100 Flowers to Knit & Crochet – A Book Review

The lovely people at Search Press sent me 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet, by Lesley Stanfield. Readers of my blog will know that she is my favourite pattern designer of all time. This book does not disappoint.

It is full of beautiful pictures of stunning, life like, knitted and crocheted flowers. One hundred of them to be exact. The patterns are set out into competency levels and are really easy to follow. I especially love the diagrams for the crochet patterns. As most artistic people find it harder to follow written instructions these visual instructions are a breath of fresh air! The sheer choice of designs make this book a delight for everyone, the flowers are not for any purpose in particular so you can adapt them to your own needs. Like corsages, hair clips, bag decorations or even beautiful touches for wrapping of presents. Everyone has a favourite flower and I would be shocked if you couldn’t find it here.

Even if you never get the time to make any of the patterns I would suggest it as a summers day read at the very least. The pictures are gorgeous and the effects Lesley has achieved with just wool and needles is still mind blowing! It is probably the second most beautiful small projects knitting/crochet book I have ever had the joy of reading. The first being 75 birds, butterflies & beautiful beasties to knit & crochet, also by Lesley Stanfield. To read my earlier review of this title click here.

Here is my favourite flower from the book, the Irish Rose. I got carried away and made more than I’d ever need! But you can never have too many beautiful things!

To purchase the book click here

This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.