Making your own Wedding Dress

I realise I have neglected this blog for the past year and no excuse is good enough. But I did have the sewing project of my life!! 2013 saw us move, get married and both hold down full time jobs. So free time was scarce. So to catch you up, here is a blog post i put up on our wedding blog:

My bridesmaids and I visited a few shops and I tried on a few dresses. I knew what I wanted all along, I kept an open mind like your supposed to, tried on skin tight satin with sequins. But I know what I like and it’s not that. There was one hitch, I found what I like and it cost £3000! I knew that wedding dresses are expensive, but when I think about what that could buy, I just couldn’t justify it for a dress I would wear once. I bought a dress for £60 a few years ago and hardly ever wear it as it cost “so much money”!

Samples for selection..

Samples for selection..

Mum and I have talked about making my wedding dress before and whilst I was trying them on, Mum was putting her head up my skirt working out how it was made, much to the amusement of my Bridesmaids. We discussed it over hot chocolate and cheesecake and decided we could do it! With the combined insight of Me, Mum and my Nan we have enough knowledge with a needle to pull this off, plus we had 9 months! People make whole babies in that time.

It’s going well, I would say I am over half way done. I’m not giving any more away as I need you all to gasp as I enter on 21st September, so don’t look too closely at the below images… Jack is being very good and not peeking, I think he’s just not interested actually. But he thinks I’m beautiful in my PJs so it doesn’t matter, that’s why I’m marrying him!

My friends dog, Max got bored whilst I was babysitting..

My friends dog, Max got bored whilst I was babysitting..

So I am making my dress.

So I am making my dress.

So I am making my dress.

This entry was posted in Free Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.